W Series launches new eSports league for female racing drivers

W Series, the international single-seater motor racing championship for female drivers only, has announced the inauguration of an all-new W Series Esports League for female racing drivers only.

Partnering with Logitech G (a global leader in PC and console gaming gear), Beyond Entertainment (a community-driven organisation that specialises in hosting high-calibre tournaments) and iRacing (the leading esports simulation platform), the W Series Esports League will commence its sim racing season in the coming weeks in the current absence of on-track motor racing anywhere in the world.

Read next: Aston Martin Racing to make eSports debut in The Race All-Star Series

A brand-new initiative, the W Series Esports League aims to inaugurate, publicise, promote and empower a shared commitment to raising female sim racing visibility in order to encourage more women and girls everywhere to take up e-racing, thereby opening up a new world of equality and diversity in what has previously been seen as a predominantly male-dominated activity.

W Series driver Jamie Chadwick
W Series driver Jamie Chadwick

Jamie Chadwick (Reigning Champion, W Series) said: “Nothing beats the sheer thrill of driving a real race car flat-out on a real racetrack, and I don’t mind admitting I’m missing that enormously. But I’ve been massively impressed by the work that W Series, Logitech, Beyond Entertainment and iRacing have done together over the past few weeks, and the result, the W Series Esports League, is seriously impressive.”

Read next: What is an EV? Everything you need to know about hybrid and electric vehicles

W Series eSports drivers

Unlike many other sim racing initiatives, the W Series Esports League will be contested by women only, and all 18 drivers who have qualified to race in the on-track W Series this year are expected to take part, as follows:

Driver Country Number
Jamie Chadwick United Kingdom 21
Beitske Visser Netherlands 25
Alice Powell United Kingdom 27
Marta Garcia Spain 19
Emma Kimilainen Finland 30
Fabienne Wohlwend Liechtenstein 22
Miki Koyama Japan 22
Sarah Moore United Kingdom 26
Vicky Piria Italy 26
Tasmin Pepper South Africa 29
Jessica Hawkins United Kingdom 25
Sabre Cook United States 25
Ayla Agren Norway 26
Abbie Eaton United Kingdom 28
Belen Garcia Spain 20
Nerea Marti Spain 18
Irina Sidorkova Russia 16
Bruna Tomaselli Brazil 22

In addition, W Series reserves the right to invite other female drivers to participate in W Series Esports League races on an invitational basis.

W Series Brands Hatch

Buy a desktop PC on Amazon (Affiliate)

W Series eSports circuits

The W Series Esports League races will be run on 10 of the greatest circuits in the world, in the following order:

  • Autodromo Nazionale di Monza (Italy)
  • Circuit of the Americas, Austin (Texas, United States)
  • Brands Hatch Grand Prix Circuit (United Kingdom)
  • Autódromo José Carlos Pace, Interlagos (Brazil)
  • Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)
  • Watkins Glen International (New York, United States)
  • Suzuka International Racing Course (Japan)
  • Mount Panorama Circuit, Bathurst (Australia)
  • Nürburgring Nordschleife (Germany)
  • Silverstone Grand Prix Circuit (United Kingdom)

W Series eSports cars

Working closely with Logitech, Beyond Entertainment and iRacing, the W Series Esports League will feature digital versions of the Tatuus Formula Renault 2.0 race car, similar in performance to the W Series Tatuus Formula 3 race car, accurately modelled to replicate its looks, performance and driver ‘feel’, thereby creating an innovative state-of-the-art visual spectacle that further blurs the lines between real and virtual.

Read next: Extreme E: Can we use sport as a platform for climate change?

W Series eSports race format

W Series Esports League points will be awarded in every race. At the end of the W Series Esports League season, the driver who has scored the most points will be declared the winner of the W Series Esports League Title.

Up to three races will be run at each of the 10 circuits, of varying lengths/durations, the majority of them conventional races started on grids formed according to normal qualifying sessions, but some of them reverse-grid races started on grids formed in reverse order of current W Series Esports League points standings.

W Series driver Jamie Chadwick win
Jamie Chadwick won the inaugural W Series

Catherine Bond Muir (Chief Executive Officer, W Series) said: “In the absence of on-track racing anywhere in the world, as a result of the ongoing global COVID-19 crisis, we at W Series are pleased to announce the inauguration of our own W Series Esports League.”

Buy a desktop PC on Amazon (Affiliate)

“I’m extremely impressed by the work that has been done to put it together, in record time, by ourselves and by our partners Logitech, Beyond Entertainment and iRacing, in association with our principal sponsor ROKiT Phones, and I’m confident that the result will be a difficult yet exciting challenge for our drivers and an innovative yet thrilling spectacle for fans watching on YouTube, on Twitch, and on other streaming platforms dedicated to online gaming.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.